Board Members

Members of the AIRB were recruited from across the province selected through a public, open competition managed by an outside executive search firm. Board members have various skill sets, and include an individual to represent the interests of consumers.

Mr. Allan Cleiren (Chair)

Allan CleirenMr. Cleiren is a Chartered Accountant with over 22 years of executive and financial management experience in both private and public companies. His experience includes that of CFO for a large publicly traded multidivisional company with international operations, Price WaterhouseCoopers where he was engaged in audit and tax services, Afexa Life Sciences Inc. as Senior Vice President Operations/ Chief Financial Officer, and his most recent appointment to A & B Rail Services Ltd, as Chief Financial Officer, responsible for all support services groups including Human Resource, Safety, Risk Management, Warehouse, Fleet, Mechanical and Finance departments. Mr. Cleiren holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors and has held several director positions in not-for-profit and for profit boards.

Mr. Norbert Van Wyk (Vice-Chair)

Information and photo coming soon.


Ms. Charlene Butler

Charlene ButlerMs. Butler is currently an independent consultant focused on strategic planning, program evaluation, resource requirement assessments and non-financial risk management. Ms. Butler has worked for 11 years in the insurance industry, initially as an underwriter and later she worked in progressively more senior management roles: Regional Branch Manager for Intact Insurance (formerly ING Canada), Regional Branch Manager for Allianz Canada, culminating with Aviva Insurance Company of Canada, where she served as Assistant Vice President until 2007. Ms. Butler returned to University at that time and completed a MBA in 2009. Earlier qualifications included a Bachelor of Commerce (with distinction), with concentration on Risk and Insurance Management and a Bachelor of Science (with distinction) in Actuarial Science. Ms. Butler offers the Automobile Insurance Rate Board strong technical skills combined with energy, passion and a commitment to serve.

Mr. James Cuming

Mr. Cuming is currently the senior partner at Cuming & Gillespie, a boutique law firm in Calgary.  His area of practice includes representing clients dealing with automobile insurance claims. He offers the unique consumer perspective of the insurance claimant.  Additionally, James is familiar with various models of governance.  He serves as a Governor of the American Association for Justice (formerly the Association of Trial Lawyers of America), is a former Executive member the Canadian Trial Lawyers Association and Past President the Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association.

Mr. Chris Daniel (Consumer Representative)

Mr. Daniel is a retired senior insurance executive and holds the position of Honorary Chairman, Retired, for TD Insurance Meloche Monnex. For over 35 years Mr. Daniel has been involved in the insurance industry.  He has extensive and broad knowledge of this profession including experience in adjusting, group insurance and rate setting.  He has dealt with consumer organizations and has developed programs for their members. Mr. Daniel co-chaired the provincial “no fault” automobile insurance debate in the past.  His Board experience includes serving as a Director of the Insurance Brokers Association and several other community boards.  Prior to joining the insurance profession Mr. Daniel served with the London, U.K. and Toronto police forces. 

Dr. Tracy Edwards

Tracy EdwardsDr. Edwards is the former President and CEO of Lethbridge College (2005-2012).  Dr. Edwards has extensive senior executive experience in the post secondary sector in Canada as well as in the United States, where she served as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Learning Officer at Valencia College in Florida. She began her career in post secondary education in Nova Scotia before making a move to the US. She has broad experience as a member and leader on post secondary related boards and committees. Active in the community, Dr. Edwards has been involved with many organizations including Economic Development Lethbridge and the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce. Dr. Edwards has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills and a strong understanding of governance.

Ms. Maureen Higgins

Information and photo coming soon.

Mr. Jim Murta

Mr. Murta is a retired actuary, having worked in a senior role with an international consulting firm. He is a recent President of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and continues his involvement on its Professional Conduct Committee. He has a strong interest in governance and was involved in the setting up the governance model (with outside experts) of the CIA Board.  Mr. Murta is current on actuarial topics, particularly in the areas of statistical modeling and risk management. He has a broad understanding of the insurance sector and was responsible for establishing the actuarial department of The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company. Mr. Murta has a consumer focus and is of the view that decisions should be made with the public in mind.

Mr. Mark Prefontaine (non-voting member)

Mr. Prefontaine is the Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Regulation and Policy with Alberta Finance. This position includes the roles of Superintendent of Pensions, Superintendent of Insurance, and Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

Mr. Prefontaine has been with Alberta Finance since 2003, joining the pension area first as a Senior Compliance Officer, then Senior Manager, Risk Management; and most recently (since August 2007) as the Deputy Superintendent of Pensions. Prior to joining the ministry, he worked in a family financial planning practice for eight years, and was an officer in the Canadian Armed Forces for five years.  He has obtained certification as a Financial Planner and a Chartered Financial Analyst.